January 20, 2015

Led Zeppelin Physical Graffiti Remaster Coming February


Like Chuck Berry, The Rolling Stones and George Harrison Led Zeppelin are releasing some of their work in a new package and it is fully remastered.


Led Zeppelin ‘Physical Graffiti’ will be the next chapter of the Led Zeppelin remasters.

The deluxe edition of the group’s sixth studio album will arrive 40 years after the original debuted on February 24, 1975.

The reissues of the first five Led Zeppelin albums in 2014 found both commercial successes, with multiple titles reaching Top 10 chart status in countries around the world, as well as widespread critical acclaim, including the recent Classic Rock ‘Reissue Of The Year’ Award.

As with the previous deluxe editions, Physical Graffiti has been newly remastered by guitarist and producer Jimmy Page and is accompanied by a disc of companion audio comprising previously unreleased music related to the original release.

Certified 16X’s platinum in the U.S., the commercial success of Physical Graffiti was equaled by its critical reception. Generally regarded as one of the greatest double albums of all time, the original 15 tracks represent a creative tour de force that explores the band’s dynamic musical range, from the driving rock of Custard Pie and acoustic arrangement of Bron-Y-Aur Stomp to the Eastern raga of Kashmir and funky groove of Trampled Under Foot.

The companion audio disc that accompanies the deluxe edition of Physical Graffiti has seven unreleased tracks, including rough mixes of In My Time Of Dying and Houses Of The Holy, as well as an early mix of Trampled Under Foot called Brandy & Coke. All the unreleased companion tracks offer fans a chance to hear well-known songs from a different perspective, including the Sunset Sound mix of Boogie With Stu and Driving Through Kashmir, a rough orchestra mix of the band’s eight minute opus Kashmir. 

Also featured is Everybody Makes It Through, a strikingly different early version of In The Light with alternate lyrics.


Led Zeppelin Physical Graffiti track list

Disc One
Custard Pie
The Rover
In My Time Of Dying
Houses Of The Holy
Trampled Under Foot

Disc Two
In The Light
Down By The Seaside
Ten Years Gone
Night Flight
The Wanton Song
Boogie With Stu
Black Country Woman
Sick Again

Disc 3 (Deluxe Only)
Brandy & Coke (Trampled Under Foot – Initial Rough Mix)
Sick Again (Early Version)
In My Time Of Dying (Initial Rough Mix)
Houses Of The Holy (Rough Mix With Overdubs)
Everybody Makes It Through (In The Light Early Version/In Transit)
Boogie With Stu (Sunset Sound Mix)
Driving Through Kashmir (Kashmir Rough Orchestra Mix)


With thanks to Noise 11
Picture credits:Dawn,Amazon.


Pictures above via Twitter

Did Led Zeppelin Steal The ‘Stairway to Heaven’ Riff?
Cellist Maya Beiser Channels Janis Joplin, Nirvana And Other Rockers
Glyn Johns: Defining That Classic-Rock Sound
Led Zeppelin's Master Guitarist Jimmy Page Is Writing New Songs
Is Led Zeppelin's 'Whole Lotta Love' Really The Best Guitar Riff Ever?
Led Zeppelin’s Robert Plant And Jimmy Page Face 'Stairway To Heaven' Trial
The Weirdest Musical Instruments
Led Zeppelin’s Jimmy Page Denies Stealing Stairway To Heaven Riff 
Led Zeppelin To Pay Copyright Legal Costs