September 09, 2015

Queen Elizabeth II Becomes Britain's Longest-Serving Monarch


This is quite an historical achievement!   

I recall her coronation, and her visits to Commonwealth countries after that.  
We all lined the roads to see her.

The morphing sequence above does not include the Plantagenets or the Tudors, possibly because back then Britain was not totally united.
Now we can say it is the United Kingdom. 

She acceded to the throne in February 1952.




She has seen the comings and goings of many British Prime Ministers.


To date, the Queen has given regular Tuesday evening audiences with her 12 Prime Ministers: 
Winston Churchill (1951-55); 
Sir Anthony Eden (1955-57); 
Harold Macmillan (1957-63); 
Sir Alec Dounglas-Home (1963-64); 
Harold Wilson (1964-70 and 1974-76); 
Edward Heath (1970-74); 
James Callaghan (1976-79); 
Margaret Thatcher (1979-90); 
John Major (1990-97); 
Tony Blair (1997-2007);
Gordon Brown (2007-2010); 
David Cameron (2010-present).


Picture credits: The Australian, The ABC and The Telegraph.

The Royal Jewels